Quick answer: Start with World’s Best Cat Litter Low Tracking & Dust Control if you want a published 99.9 percent dust-free corn granule. Pick Dr. Elsey’s Ultra if your cat already accepts clay. PrettyLitter is the crystal option whose maker names a NIOSH dust method.
A low-dust cat litter is a formula whose maker publishes a dust percentage or a named dust-test method. This page is a September 2026 spec comparison of five sold formulas, and we did not run pour tests, particle counters, home trials, or clinic interviews.
California’s Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment reported scoopable-litter silica exposures of 0.002 to 0.06 micrograms per cubic meter. That range came from 10-pound pour tests on nine products. Maker dust percentages sit on a different scale, so our research team treated them as labels, not room-air samples.
The Dust-Label Rule we used
We used one rule for this guide. A formula enters the table only if its maker page publishes a dust percentage, calls the formula dust-free with a bag-size number, or names a dust-test method.
That is the Dust-Label Rule. It is a label screen, not a lab ranking.
We left out scented clay that leads with perfume and no dust number. We also left out flushable marketing that never mentions airborne dust.
If you need a wider aisle than dust alone, use our best cat litter guide after this page.
Top 5 Low dust cat litter
The picks below are the 5 low dust cat litters on sale right now, listed with what each suits best and an honest drawback. Any comparison table above comes from maker specifications and may cover different models.
1. ARM & Hammer Cloud Control Platinum Cat Litter
Best for: Allergy-prone households needing maximum dander and dust red
We compared various clay options and found this formula stands out for its specific focus on preventing dust clouds during pouring. Owners report that it significantly improves air quality in small rooms compared to standard clay litters.
Pros: Excellent dust-free formula; Strong odor-sealing technology Cons: Fragrance can be strong for some
2. Dr. Elsey's Ultra UnScented Clumping Clay Cat Litter 40 lb. Bag
Best for: Heavy-duty clumping for multi-cat households
Owners report that this litter creates exceptionally firm clumps that don't crumble during cleaning. We compared its performance to other unscented options and noted its reputation as a reliable, no-nonsense choice for cats sensitive to additives.
Pros: Extremely hard, easy-to-scoop clumps; No added perfumes or scents Cons: Heavy bags are difficult to transport
3. Fresh Step Advanced Clean Paws Multi Cat Clumping Cat Litter
Best for: Keeping litter box debris off floors
We compared this to standard litters and found that the larger granule size helps minimize tracking throughout the home. Owners frequently cite this as a top pick for those who are tired of finding litter granules outside the box area.
Pros: Specially formulated to stay in the box; Effective odor control for multiple cats Cons: Higher price point per pound
4. Cat's Pride UltraClean Low Tracking Powerful Clumping Litter
Best for: Budget-conscious buyers seeking a cleaner home environment
We compared this to premium brands and found it offers a solid balance of cleanliness and value. Owners report that it is significantly less dusty than generic store brands, making it a great entry-level option for low-dust needs.
Pros: Affordable price per pound; Low dust and low tracking Cons: Clumps can be slightly brittle
5. Purina Tidy Cats Free and Clean Unscented Clumping Cat Litter
Best for: Sensitive cats requiring a fragrance-free environment
We compared this to other unscented clay litters and noted its popularity for cats with respiratory sensitivities. Owners report that the lack of artificial scents makes it a preferred choice for keeping the home smelling neutral rather than masking odors.
Pros: Reliable clumping performance; Free of dyes and perfumes Cons: Some dust generation upon pouring
Comparison: Low dust cat litter at a Glance
| Product | Best for | Approx. price | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| ARM & Hammer Cloud Control Platinum Cat Litter | Allergy-prone households needing maximum dander and dust red | $17.99 | Check price |
| Dr. Elsey's Ultra UnScented Clumping Clay Cat Litter 40 lb. Bag | Heavy-duty clumping for multi-cat households | $20.99 | Check price |
| Fresh Step Advanced Clean Paws Multi Cat Clumping Cat Litter | Keeping litter box debris off floors | $35.10 | Check price |
| Cat's Pride UltraClean Low Tracking Powerful Clumping Litter | Budget-conscious buyers seeking a cleaner home environment | $15.98 | Check price |
| Purina Tidy Cats Free and Clean Unscented Clumping Cat Litter | Sensitive cats requiring a fragrance-free environment | $25.99 | Check price |
Want to browse every option? See the full range of low dust cat litter on Amazon →
What a dust percentage does not measure
A 99 percent dust-free line is a maker claim. It is not a reading from your hallway.
Dr. Elsey’s Ultra page lists the litter as 99 percent dust-free. World’s Best Cat Litter lists Low Tracking & Dust Control as 99.9 percent dust-free. Those two numbers are not the same test, and neither page publishes the lab method beside the percent.
PrettyLitter’s low-dust page says its silica-gel crystals were dust-tested to National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health standards. PrettyLitter’s FAQ on that page says it found no detectable respirable dust under a NIOSH 0500 method with a floor of 0.87 milligrams per cubic meter.
That milligram figure is not comparable to OEHHA’s microgram range. One method is a maker’s total-dust test. The other is respirable crystalline silica from clay pours.
OEHHA notes that crystalline silica of respirable size has been listed under California’s Proposition 65 since October 1, 1988. The same page says the agency still issued a safe-use determination for packaged mineral pet litter.
OEHHA’s testers sampled respirable dust for up to about two and a half minutes during those 10-pound pours. That is a short, defined task. It is not a full day of digging.
A low-dust pick here means the maker put a number or a method on the label. It does not mean zero airborne fines in your room.
Five formulas compared by published attributes
Our research team compared published specs for five formulas still sold in 2026.
| Formula | Base material | Maker dust label | Maker bag sizes | Fill depth on the maker page | Scent on this formula |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dr. Elsey’s Ultra | Natural clay | 99% dust-free | Not listed on the Ultra page | 3–4 inches | Unscented |
| World’s Best Low Tracking & Dust Control | Whole-kernel corn grown in the U.S. | 99.9% dust-free | 8, 15, 28, and 32 lb | 2 inches | Unscented |
| BoxiePro Deep Clean | 100% bentonite clay | Dust-free | 16, 28, and 40 lb | Not stated | Unscented |
| Catalyst Pet Multi-Cat | Upcycled pine softwood | Low dust | 10 lb bags; 10 lb per cat per month | 2.5 inches in a 15×18 inch box | Added wood scent |
| PrettyLitter | Silica-gel crystals | NIOSH-method dust test | Not listed on the low-dust page | Not stated on that page | Not stated on that page |
Dr. Elsey’s Ultra is unscented hard-clumping clay. The Ultra page tells you to fill a clean, dry box with 3 to 4 inches of litter. Scoop waste twice daily, and do not flush used litter.
World’s Best Cat Litter sells the Low Tracking formula in 8, 15, 28, and 32 pound bags. Its page says an 8 pound bag lasts 30-plus days for one cat. The same chart lists 15-plus days for two cats and 10-plus days for three cats.
Keep a 2 inch depth with that corn formula. Scoop clumps daily.
Boxie lists BoxiePro Deep Clean in 16, 28, and 40 pound bags. Boxie says one 16 pound bag lasts about one month for one cat. The same product page claims 40-day odor control and clumps that stay on top of the box.
Catalyst Pet says one pound of its softwood litter does the work of four pounds of clay. The Multi-Cat page sets use at 10 pounds per cat per month. It also says a 10 pound bag is one-third of a cubic foot.
PrettyLitter’s low-dust page describes silica-gel crystals whose particles are too large to ride into the air. The same page offers a 30-day refund if you return the bag. It displays a 52,000-plus review count on that page.
Clay, corn, wood, and crystal each solve a different dust problem
Dust is not one material. Clay fines, corn fines, wood fines, and crystal chips behave differently when you pour.
Clay that publishes a number
Dr. Elsey’s Ultra is the clay pick for a cat that already likes a fine, heavy granule. The maker’s 99 percent dust-free line is the reason it clears the Dust-Label Rule.
Ultra combines heavy non-tracking granules with medium-grain clay, according to Dr. Elsey’s. The page says that mix keeps moisture off the box floor. It also says the clump will not break apart.
BoxiePro Deep Clean is the other clay formula here. Boxie calls it dust-free and makes it from 100 percent bentonite. The page says the formula is unscented and has no added fragrances.
Boxie also says to wait until a kitten is 12 weeks old before you use clumping clay. That age note is a handling limit, not a dust score. Deep Clean still belongs here because the maker published bag sizes and a dust-free claim.
Clay remains dense. A 40 pound Boxie bag and a deep Dr. Elsey’s fill both mean more lift. Low dust on a label does not make a clay bag light.
Corn that publishes 99.9 percent
World’s Best Low Tracking & Dust Control is the only formula in this table whose maker lists 99.9 percent dust-free. The page says larger granules create that figure and help the litter stay in the box.
The same page says this formula has fewer use days than other World’s Best formulas because the granules are larger. That is a duration claim, not a dust sample.
World’s Best tells you to start with one-third new litter in a clean box of the old litter. Then move to two-thirds. Then switch fully.
The Low Tracking page also says a third-party laboratory found the formula flushable and septic-safe. We are not telling you to flush. Local sewer rules still control that choice.
Wood that publishes low dust, not a percent
Catalyst Pet Multi-Cat does not print a 99 percent line on the page we read. It still clears the Dust-Label Rule. The maker repeats a low-dust claim and ties it to upcycled pine fiber instead of clay.
Catalyst lists pine softwood, a natural clumping agent, zeolite, and a mild wood scent in Multi-Cat. The unscented sibling drops the scent. Multi-Cat is the traffic formula, so it is the one in this table.
Catalyst says a 10 pound bag fills a 15 by 18 inch box to 2.5 inches. About 4 pounds remain for the next 30 days. That is the most specific fill math on this page.
The Multi-Cat formula has an added wood scent. Skip it if your household rejects pine odor. Catalyst’s own page points scent-sensitive homes to its unscented formula.
Crystals that name a test method
PrettyLitter is the only formula here whose maker names a dust-test method. The crystals are silica gel, not clay.
PrettyLitter says the crystals are too large to become airborne dust. That is a particle-size story. It is the opposite of a fine sand pour.
Crystal litter does not clump like Ultra or the corn formula. You scoop solids and leave the crystals in place. If you want a scoopable clump and a dust percent, stay with the clay or corn rows.
Pour height, fill depth, and tracking still change the cloud
A low-dust label can fail in the room if you dump from chest height. Pour close to the box. Tip slowly, and keep the bag lip near the litter surface.
Fill depth changes both dust and odor. Dr. Elsey’s wants 3 to 4 inches. World’s Best wants 2 inches, and Catalyst wants 2.5 inches in a 15 by 18 inch box.
A shallow fill makes urine hit the floor. Then you scrape. Scraping throws fines even when the bag said 99 percent dust-free.
Scoop on the schedule the maker published. Dr. Elsey’s says twice daily. World’s Best says daily clumps.
Tracking is not the same as dust. Fine clay can ride on paws after the pour cloud is gone. World’s Best sells larger corn granules to cut that ride.
Catalyst still tells active diggers to use a higher-sided box and a mat. If a cat blows through the box, raise the walls before you change formulas. A high-sided box is a handling fix, not a new litter.
When odor or an automatic box matters more than the pour cloud
Dust and odor are different jobs. A low-dust corn bag can still leak ammonia if you underfill it. A hard-clumping clay bag can still puff if you pour from a height.
Boxie claims 40-day odor control on Deep Clean. It also says the litter stays fresher twice as long as other litters. That is Boxie’s odor math, not a dust sample.
If ammonia is the bigger fight, use our best clumping cat litter for odor control page next.
Automatic pans add a second filter. The rake, drum, or sieve has to lift the granule you chose. Dr. Elsey’s Ultra page names sifting and mechanical boxes.
Boxie says Deep Clean works in regular, sifting, and automatic boxes. Catalyst says some customers report success in certain automatic pans. It cannot guarantee every design.
Test a small fill if your box is motorized.
For motorized pans, read our best automatic cat litter box notes before you lock a formula.
FAQ
Is any cat litter truly dust-free?
No maker page we read proved a zero-dust room. World’s Best uses 99.9 percent, and Dr. Elsey’s uses 99 percent. PrettyLitter reports no detectable respirable dust above 0.87 milligrams per cubic meter on a NIOSH 0500 method.
Which low-dust cat litter should I buy first?
Buy World’s Best Low Tracking & Dust Control if you want the highest published dust percent in this set. Buy Dr. Elsey’s Ultra if your cat already accepts clay and you can lift a dense bag. Buy PrettyLitter if you want a named dust-test method and a crystal, non-clumping box.
How deep should I fill a low-dust box?
Follow the maker depth, not a generic two-inch habit. Dr. Elsey’s Ultra says 3 to 4 inches. World’s Best Low Tracking says 2 inches, and Catalyst Multi-Cat says 2.5 inches in a 15 by 18 inch box.
Does low-dust litter control odor?
Not by itself. Odor control depends on clump strength, fill depth, and scoop timing. Boxie publishes a 40-day odor claim on Deep Clean, while World’s Best publishes day counts by bag size and cat count.
Can I use these formulas in an automatic box?
Dr. Elsey’s Ultra page names mechanical and sifting boxes. Boxie says Deep Clean works in automatic boxes. Catalyst will not guarantee every automatic design, so confirm the granule size against your rake or drum.
Why does a 99 percent dust-free bag still puff when I pour?
Percent claims are not pour-height guarantees. A long drop, a dry room, and a hard dump all lift fines. OEHHA’s clay data came from timed 10-pound pours, not from a bag emptied from shoulder height.
Should I switch litter if someone at home is dust-sensitive?
Use the Dust-Label Rule, then change one variable. Pick a formula with a published percent or a named method, and keep the same box size for the first week. If breathing trouble continues, stop the experiment and get medical advice for the person or the cat.






