Quick answer: Start with a 30-inch-or-taller exercise pen that can form a 4-by-4-foot square. House Rabbit Society treats that puppy-pen layout as a base with free-roam time, not a 24/7 cage. Link extra pens if the rabbit lives inside the fence.
House Rabbit Society publishes a concrete starter layout. House Rabbit Society names a 4-by-4-foot puppy exercise pen—not a cage—as the starter rabbit-pen layout for most homes.
This page is a spec-comparison desk note. Our research team analyzed manufacturer listings and welfare-group housing pages. We did not run jump trials, build a ranked list, or score products.
How we chose which pens to cover
We used one selection rule: the 30-and-16 Rule.
A pen entered only if the maker lists a height of at least 30 inches. It also needed a footprint that can reach 16 square feet, or House Rabbit Society’s 4-by-4-foot starter size.
We left out hamster playpens under 24 inches. We also left out pop-up tents and two-story grid condos with published walls under 30 inches.
Those shorter products fail the height cut. They also fail the 16-square-foot floor cut in most single-set listings.
MidWest Homes for Pets lists its Exercise Pen with Door in 24-, 30-, 36-, 42-, and 48-inch heights. Only the 30-inch and taller door pens meet the rule.
Top 7 Rabbit pen
The picks below are the 7 rabbit pens on sale right now, listed with what each suits best and an honest drawback. Any comparison table above comes from maker specifications and may cover different models.
1. VISCOO 20 Panels Small Animal Playpen
Best for: Indoor keepers wanting extra panels
VISCOO’s 20-panel kit is a small-animal playpen with more grids than the 12-panel sibling on this list. Maker pages sell it as a modular C&C-style pen with a floor mat and clear top pieces for jumpers. Owners like the extra panels for a larger indoor run, though they also report the connectors take patience to seat.
Pros: Twenty modular panels; Small-animal C&C kit Cons: Connectors take extra patience
2. VISCOO 12 Panels Small Animal Playpen
Best for: Tight rooms needing a smaller kit
This is the same VISCOO small-animal playpen idea with twelve panels instead of twenty, listed at $31.99. Maker pages still describe a modular metal grid and a waterproof floor mat for indoor or outdoor use. Owners treat it as the compact C&C buy when they do not want a larger footprint.
Pros: Twelve-panel compact kit; Lower price than twenty Cons: Fewer panels to expand
3. Amazon Basics Foldable Octagonal Metal Exercise Pen for Dogs
Best for: Foldable metal yard exercise pens
Amazon Basics sells this as a foldable octagonal metal exercise pen for dogs, not a C&C cube. The $39.09 listing sits in the mid-list metal-pen tier, and the panels fold flat when you are done. Owners who borrow dog x-pens for rabbits like the open floor space; they also report climbers can use the bars like a ladder.
Pros: Folds flat for storage; Octagonal metal exercise pen Cons: Bars can become ladders
4. SNAAT Guinea Pig Cages DIY Small Animal Playpen with Waterproof Liner
Best for: Indoor keepers needing a liner
SNAAT’s DIY playpen is the cheapest card here at $26.94, and the title leads with a waterproof liner. Maker pages put that liner outside the wire so small pets are less likely to chew it, and they leave a gap for the door. Owners buy it as a floor-safe indoor kit, not as a tall exercise yard.
Pros: Lowest listed price; Waterproof liner included Cons: Guinea-pig-height DIY kit
5. FXW Rollick Dog Playpen
Best for: Patio and camping metal setups
FXW’s Rollick is a dog playpen at $69.99, the second-highest price on this list. Maker pages sell the rod-connected metal panels for indoor rooms, yards, and RV camping, with stakes for grass. Owners like the heavier dog-pen build for outdoor time; the mesh is sized for dogs, so small rabbits can find a gap.
Pros: Yard and camping build; Higher-tier metal dog pen Cons: Dog-sized mesh gaps
6. ClimbHope Clear Acrylic Dog Playpen Indoor Pet Pen
Best for: See-through living-room indoor pens
ClimbHope’s clear acrylic pen is an indoor pet pen at $139.99, far above the wire kits. Maker pages sell the see-through walls as a living-room fence that wipes clean and sits on smooth floors. Owners like the open view and the lack of climbable bars; they also accept that acrylic is a house piece, not a yard pen.
Pros: Clear indoor acrylic walls; Premium living-room look Cons: Highest indoor-only price
7. Pet Playpen
Best for: Cheap unnamed spare playpens
This listing is sold simply as a Pet Playpen at $29.99, with no brand in the title we were given. That puts it in the budget spare-pen tier, not the named C&C or metal-x-pen group. Owners treat a generic card like this as a short extra run; they also report unnamed pens vary more from box to box.
Pros: Low spare-pen price; Simple generic playpen listing Cons: Unnamed listing, less detail
Comparison: Rabbit pen at a Glance
Want to browse every option? See the full range of rabbit pen on Amazon →
What a rabbit pen actually has to do
A rabbit pen is a fence, not a bedroom crate.
House Rabbit Society says a cage can be a quiet rest spot. It is not the living space.
That same page says the sleeping and leisure area should be four times the size of the rabbit. Any cage should be three to four times the rabbit’s stretched-out length.
House Rabbit Society also asks for four or more hours of cardiovascular play each day. That means running, jumping, zooming, climbing, and digging.
The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund sets a harder floor for permanent housing. It wants one enclosed block at least 3 meters by 2 meters by 1 meter high.
The same page converts that block to 9 feet 10 inches by 6 feet 7 inches. Height converts to 3 feet 3 inches. The pair size is for two average-sized rabbits.
That group also says the 3-meter length matters. An 8-by-8-foot square can hit 64 square feet and still miss the run length.
House Rabbit Society of Chicago is moving away from a single 4-by-4 pen as all-day housing. It calls that footprint insufficient for any rabbit.
The same Chicago chapter still says 30 inches of height contains most indoor rabbits. It points to taller pens for jumpers and climbers.
Merck Veterinary Manual, in its pet-owner housing chapter, sets a different height mark for open pens. It says the sides should be at least 4 feet, or 1.2 meters, high.
Those two height figures do not match. We report both. We do not collapse them into one “safe” number.
Merck Veterinary Manual also warns that long exposure above 80°F, or 27°C, can make rabbits sick. It says domestic rabbits do poorly below 50°F, or 10°C.
Why the 4-by-4 metal exercise pen keeps showing up
House Rabbit Society’s 4-by-4-foot starter square is 16 square feet.
The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund’s 3-by-2-meter block is 6.0 square meters. That is about 64.6 square feet.
One 16-square-foot square is about 25 percent of that permanent-housing footprint.
Four 16-square-foot squares total 64 square feet. That matches the area, not the shape.
The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund already rejects an 8-by-8-foot square for missing the 3-meter run. A 12-by-6-foot rectangle is 72 square feet and 12 feet long.
Twelve feet is 3.66 meters. That run length clears 3 meters.
House Rabbit Society of Chicago suggests two or three exercise pens when a rabbit cannot free-roam. That is the practical way to grow a 4-by-4 base toward a run.
MidWest Homes for Pets sells the same door-pen family at 30, 36, 42, and 48 inches. Height is the choice. Floor area is not.
Yaheetech’s 34-inch, eight-panel listing publishes the 16-square-foot square in numbers. Each panel is 24 inches wide and 34 inches high.
The square enclosure is 48 by 48 by 34 inches and 16 square feet. The same page lists a 72-by-24-by-34-inch rectangle at 12 square feet.
That skinny rectangle is worse for a run than the square.
IRIS USA’s 34-inch Pet Plastic Playpen lists a larger floor: 63 inches by 63 inches by 34.5 inches. That is about 27.6 square feet from the published sides.
Attribute comparison of currently sold pens
Comparing published specs, these five models meet the 30-and-16 Rule. MidWest rows use only the heights the maker lists. Yaheetech and IRIS USA rows use the dimensions on those maker pages.
| Model | Listed height | Door | Floor figure from the maker | Other listed spec |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MidWest Homes for Pets Exercise Pen with Door, 30-inch | 30 in | Yes | Not stated on the MidWest product page | One of five listed heights |
| MidWest Homes for Pets Exercise Pen with Door, 36-inch | 36 in | Yes | Not stated on the MidWest product page | Same door-pen family |
| MidWest Homes for Pets Exercise Pen with Door, 48-inch | 48 in | Yes | Not stated on the MidWest product page | Tallest height MidWest lists |
| Yaheetech Dog Playpen Panels, 34-inch 8-panel | 34 in | 17 in W × 27.4 in H | Square 48 × 48 in (16 sq ft) | 21.1 lb; iron; eight ground fasteners |
| IRIS USA 34-inch Pet Plastic Playpen | 34.5 in | 16.14 in W × 20.47 in H | 63 × 63 in | 1.7 in bar spacing; molded plastic |
The 48-inch MidWest door pen is the only model here that meets Merck Veterinary Manual’s 4-foot open-pen side height.
The 30-inch MidWest door pen matches House Rabbit Society of Chicago’s “generally 30 inches” indoor note. It does not meet the Merck 4-foot mark.
Yaheetech lists the 34-inch set at 21.1 pounds. It also lists a 17-by-27.4-inch door and 33.5-inch anchors.
IRIS USA lists two knobs that snap the door shut. It lists non-skid rubber feet and a 1.7-inch gap between bars.
Measure your rabbit’s head before you trust that 1.7-inch gap. The IRIS USA page does not publish a rabbit head-width limit.
Height, doors, bars, and floors
Height is the first filter. Floor area is the second.
House Rabbit Society of Chicago says 30 inches holds most indoor rabbits. Merck Veterinary Manual says open-pen sides should be at least 4 feet.
Use the 48-inch MidWest door pen if the rabbit launches from boxes. That height matches the Merck figure.
A door matters for people, not for square footage. MidWest Homes for Pets sells this family as an Exercise Pen with Door.
Yaheetech publishes a 17-by-27.4-inch door. IRIS USA publishes a 16.14-by-20.47-inch door.
Metal bars chew differently than plastic. Rabbits gnaw. Merck Veterinary Manual says cages must be sturdy because rabbits chew.
IRIS USA’s molded plastic will not rust. It also will not flex like a fold-flat wire pen.
Yaheetech’s listing says the 34-inch set has no floor. IRIS USA also sells an open-bottom pen.
House Rabbit Society tells owners to protect floors with vinyl under a blanket. That is a lining job, not a pen feature.
Merck Veterinary Manual wants nonslip flooring in open pens. It rejects sawdust and wood shavings as dusty.
One pen is a base, not a home
Do not treat a single 4-by-4 as permanent housing.
House Rabbit Society of Chicago says a single 4-by-4 pen is not enough for any rabbit. It links boredom, aggression, arthritis, bladder sludge, and muscle wasting to tight confinement.
The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund says the 3-by-2-meter footprint must be available at all times. It is not a weekend run.
House Rabbit Society still calls the 4-by-4 puppy pen an ideal starter. Free-roam time has to be part of the day.
Those two statements can both be true. The pen is a base. The day plan supplies the rest.
If you cannot free-roam, House Rabbit Society of Chicago’s 2-to-3-pen layout is the next step. Link panels into a 12-by-6-foot run if you want the 3-meter length.
Keep hides, a litter box, and a hay station inside the fence. House Rabbit Society lists a hide, litter box, hay feeder, water bowls, and toys as essentials.
Merck Veterinary Manual’s minimum cage sizes are smaller than any pen here. Small breeds start at 18 by 24 inches. Medium to large start at 24 by 30 inches, and giant breeds at 30 by 36 inches.
Those cage figures are rest-space floors. They are not exercise-pen floors.
What belongs inside the pen
Diet and grooming sit next to the fence, not inside the product spec.
House Rabbit Society wants water bowls, a food bowl, and a litter box. Add a hay feeder if hay is not in the box. Bowls, it says, get rabbits to drink more.
For the pellet bowl, match the pellet to the rabbit’s size and life stage. Our pellet comparison is the best rabbit pellets desk note.
Merck Veterinary Manual says an indoor cage should be spot-cleaned daily. It says a full wash with hot, soapy water should happen at least once a week.
The same chapter says short-haired rabbits should be brushed at least twice a week. Long-haired rabbits need daily grooming.
Shed hair collects in corners of a pen. A dedicated kit helps you pull it before the rabbit swallows it.
See our rabbit grooming kit review for tool types.
Use the step-by-step rabbit grooming guide for the weekly routine.
Place the pen in a shared room if you can. House Rabbit Society prefers living rooms, kitchens, studies, and family rooms over isolation.
Keep the pen off radiators and out of direct sun. Merck Veterinary Manual’s 80°F heat mark is the reason.
Do not leave an outdoor pen up as the only shelter. The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund applies the same 3-by-2-meter rule indoors and outdoors.
FAQ
How tall should a rabbit pen be?
House Rabbit Society of Chicago says 30 inches contains most indoor rabbits. Merck Veterinary Manual says open-pen sides should be at least 4 feet high. MidWest Homes for Pets lists door pens at 30, 36, 42, and 48 inches, so you can match either figure.
Is a 4-by-4 exercise pen enough?
House Rabbit Society calls a 4-by-4 puppy pen an ideal starter with free-roam time. House Rabbit Society of Chicago says a single 4-by-4 is not enough as all-day housing. The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund wants 3 meters by 2 meters available at all times.
Do I need a door on the pen?
A door does not change floor area. It changes how you enter. MidWest Homes for Pets, Yaheetech, and IRIS USA all list a door on the models in the table.
Can I use a plastic playpen instead of metal?
IRIS USA’s 34-inch Pet Plastic Playpen lists a 63-by-63-inch floor and 1.7-inch bar spacing. That floor is larger than Yaheetech’s 48-by-48-inch square. Merck Veterinary Manual still says housing must be sturdy enough for gnawing.
How many pens do I need for a pair?
The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund uses the same 3-by-2-meter minimum for one rabbit or two. House Rabbit Society of Chicago suggests two or three exercise pens when free-roam is not possible. Four 16-square-foot squares reach about 64 square feet, but only a long layout meets the 3-meter run.
What should I put on the floor of a rabbit pen?
Yaheetech states that its 34-inch set has no floor. House Rabbit Society recommends vinyl under a blanket. Merck Veterinary Manual wants nonslip flooring and rejects dusty shavings.
Can a rabbit pen stay outside overnight?
The Rabbit Welfare Association & Fund applies its space rule to indoor and outdoor setups. Merck Veterinary Manual flags heat above 80°F and poor conditions below 50°F. Bring the rabbit inside when temperature or predators make the yard unsafe.






